FRA - FARMA Awards 2019

The Farm Retail Association (formerly FARMA) has proudly showcased the best farm retailers across the UK through the annual awards for many years. These awards provide an opportunity for farm shops, farmers’ markets, PYO farms and trade suppliers to stand out against their competitors. They are the only Awards that are judged by fellow Farm Retailers.

All members of FRA are welcome to enter the awards. The process is simple and entry forms should take no more than a couple of hours to complete. The Winner for 2019 have been announced see below. Entries for the 2020 awards will open in April 2019.


FRA 2019 AWARD Winners Announced (27.02.19)


The Farm Retail Association (formerly FARMA) has announced the winners of its annual awards celebrating the best farm shops, farm cafés and restaurants, farmers’ markets, Pick Your Own farms and trade suppliers. They are the only awards that are judged by fellow farm retailers.

Denstone Hall Farm Shop in Staffordshire picked up two awards for Farm Café/Restaurant of the Year and Large Farm Shop of the Year. Nigel Chandler from Hilliard Brothers in Surrey was presented with a Lifetime Achievement Award for his contribution to the industry, and for his passion for knowledge transfer and continuous improvement of businesses he’s been involved with throughout his career.

Small Farm Shop of the Year was awarded to Hutchinson Hobbs Farm Shop & Butchers in Stockton-on-Tees. Parkside Farm in Middlesex was named Pick Your Own of the Year. The Farmers’ Market of the Year Award went to Abbey Leys Farmers' Market in Cheshire and The EPOS Bureau from Northern Ireland was judged Trade Member of the Year.

Milly Stokes, Chairman of the Farm Retail Association said, “The awards are a fantastic recognition of the high standards, creativity, passion and commitment to customer service in this industry. Shoppers can be confident that they are buying top quality produce from genuinely caring and thoughtful people when they visit farm shops, farmers’ markets and pick your own farms in this country. Huge congratulations to all the winners and many thanks to all our sponsors.” 

The winners in seven categories were announced at the Awards dinner as part of the Farm Retail Association’s Annual Conference and Trade Show which was held on Tuesday 26th February in Oxford. 


List of Finalists, winners and sponsors

Large Farm Shop of the Year (turnover over £1m)
Winner: Denstone Hall Farm Shop & Café, Staffordshire

Back to the Garden, Norfolk
Cannon Hall Farm, South Yorkshire
Essington Farm, Wolverhampton
Farmer Copley's, West Yorkshire
Sponsor: Insight6

Small Farm Shop of the year (turnover under £1m)
Winner: Hutchinson Hobbs Farm Shop & Butchers, Stockton-on-Tees
Knights Farm Shop, Devon
Morris's Farm Shop, Usk
Three Trees Farm Shop & Café, Swindon
Sponsor: Field Fare

Pick Your Own of the Year
Winner: Parkside Farm Pick Your Own, Middlesex
Lotmead Farm, Swindon
Maxeys Farm Shop, Nottinghamshire
Sponsor: Produce Packaging

Farmers’ Market of the Year
Winner: Abbey Leys Farmers' Market, Cheshire
Headingley Farmers' Market, Leeds
Oakwood Farmers' Market, Leeds
Shipbourne Farmers' Market, Kent
West Malling Farmers' Market, Kent
Sponsor: Total Energy Solutions

Farm Café/Restaurant of the year
Winner: Denstone Hall Farm Shop & Café, Staffordshire
Battlefield 1403, Shrewsbury
Cannon Hall Farm, South Yorkshire
The Dairy Barn Café, Melton Mowbray
Sponsor: The Cress Company

Associate Member Supplier of the year
Winner: The EPOS Bureau, Northern Ireland
Greenspan, Southampton
The Cress Co, Dunfermline
Field Fare, Kent
Sponsor: Farm Retail Association

Lifetime Achievement Award - Nigel Chandler

The Farm Retail Association (formerly FARMA) is the UK trade association representing over 400 real farm shops, farmers' markets and Pick Your Own farms across the UK. Established in 1979 the Farm Retail Association champions the people and businesses who farm and sell their produce directly to consumers.

For media enquiries contact David Leon FRA/FARMA managing agent, [email protected] T:0345 319 3640


Entries for the 2020 Awards will open in April 2019